Römerbrunnen & Römerkeller
KruftThe Roman cellar, made of tuff, was created when the volcanic rock was mined underground.
The Roman cellar, made of tuff, was created when the volcanic rock was mined underground.
Langendorf Castle was first mentioned in 1240. The oldest part of the main building dates back to the 15th century and was expanded around 1498 to include the courtrooms. The castle has been in family ownership since 1880 and was passed on to the then-20-year-old heir Manfred Vetter in 1957 - with the aim of restoring and revitalizing the heavily damaged castle. “Concert in the Barn” - from 1994 to 2010, more than 120 concerts featuring young musicians took place in the barn of the castle. The international historical fire helmet collection with approximately 300 helmets was incorporated into the foundation in 2010. The open-air stage, used only ten times, was donated to the Euskirchen district at the end of 2010 for events by schools, clubs, and others. The castle (cellar ground floor and outside) is available for group tours by arrangement.
A museum locomotive, visible from afar, shows the way to the small railway museum on the cycle path in Pronsfeld.
With a diameter of 100 metres, the Radio Telescope Effelsberg is one of the largest fully mobile radio telescopes on earth. Since its commissioning in 1972, the company has continuously worked on improving its technology (e. g. B. a new surface of the antenna dish, better receivers for high-quality data, extremely lownoise electronics) so that even today it is still considered one of the most modern telescopes in the world.
Circular hike starting at the Königsfeld community center, approx. 9 km, marked: "Geo-V". Hike along idyllic field paths with wonderful views and numerous ceramic sculptures.
The demanding route leads through charming stream valleys to the natural monument | Wasserfall Dreimühlen | Dreimühlen Waterfall and offers another impressive highlight of the region with the conquering of the castle ruins of Nürburg.
After extensive restoration and loving design, we are opening the doors to a place that brings history to life. Immerse yourself in times gone by, discover exciting exhibitions and experience the BURG in new splendor.
This 53 km tour is a delight for all walkers wanting to explore three different landscapes of the Eifel Mountains. From its starting point in the picturesque Rhine Valley, the Eifelleiter - which means Eifel Ladder in German - climbs up the fiery volcanic region of the Brohltal and over the Eifel’s highest summit, the Hohe Acht to then reach the beautiful town of Adenau as a grand finale.
One of the most unusual Christmas destinations can be found in the Eifel, right on the border between Germany and Belgium. “ArsKrippana” houses one of the largest and most impressive Christmas nativity scene collections in Europe on more than 2,500 square meters. Just in time for Christmas 2024, operator Michael Balter is presenting two highlights that are intended to encourage pause and reflection in turbulent times: a peace nativity scene and a “dream "the angel".
Visit the Salvatorian Monestry Steinfeld with three characteristic towers.The monastery together with its Basilica belongs to the most important medieval monuments in the Rhineland. Its beginnings go back to the time of Henry I (919 - 936). The basilica attached to the monastery was built between 1142 and 1150 as one of the earliest German vaulted churches by Premonstratensians.