Today's church in Ettringen certainly had several predecessors at this point on the Kirchberg. In 1616 St. Maximinus is mentioned for the first time as patron. The foundation stone of today's church - according to plans by the Cologne architect Vinzenz Statz - was laid on June 9th, 1857 and 4 years later, on September 4th, 1861, the inauguration by Bishop Wilhelm Arnoldi took place.
Englisch Panoramic view from the Teufelskanzel. The Teufelskanzel is a rocky outcrop south of the Laacher See with a fabulous view of the Neuwied basin.
The late Gothic-Era construction, in the Lutzather district of Driesch, was built at the end of the 15th century as a pilgrimage church in honor of the Mater Dolorosa (the mother of pain).
The upper forts is the older of the two Manderscheider forts. It was always owned by the Trier until the dissolution of the Electoral State and its destruction by the French (1673). Today, the well-preserved ruin is owned by the town of Manderscheid and is freely accessible.