Geeser Drees
GerolsteinAt Gees, a spring with a very unique mineralization bubbles up in a sandstone enclosure.
At Gees, a spring with a very unique mineralization bubbles up in a sandstone enclosure.
The former Catholic parish church of St. Quirin from the 16th century is dedicated to St. Quirinus.
In the idyllic Burgdorf Reifferscheid in the heart of the North Eifel we offer our new modern 60 square meter apartment for up to 4 people. The self-contained apartment on the first floor consists of a large, bright living-dining room with an open, fully equipped kitchen, a separate bedroom, a spacious bathroom and a south-facing terrace. The spacious, open kitchen is fully equipped with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, oven, toaster and coffee machine. The sitting area in the living room is furnished with a cozy wing chair and a sofa that can be converted into a full-size bed for two adults. There is WiFi, satellite TV and Bluetooth radio. Two steps lead to the separate bedroom with double bed (2m x 2m) and large closet. The modern bathroom is equipped with a walk-in shower, towel dryer and hairdryer. Storage space for bicycles in a locked hall (with electricity) and a car parking space are available free of charge. A small public children's playground is located on the opposite side of the street. Our region is a paradise for hikers and cyclists. Numerous marked hiking trails (including "EifelSchleifen" and "EifelSpuren"), the connection to the premium hiking trail "Eifelsteig", designated (mountain) bike trails (e.g. Eifel-Rad-Schleifen) and the "Vennbahn-Radweg" (between Aachen and St. Vith in Belgium) offer ideal opportunities for hiking and cycling.The popular themed trails "Sonnenglück" and "Auf den Spuren der Raubritter" lead directly past the house. In winter, snow enthusiasts will also get their money's worth at the Weißer Stein (Hellenthal-Udenbreth).
The old parish church of St. Cyriakus in Niedermenig is a Romanesque church from the 12th century. In the second half of the 15th century a Gothic chapel was added to the choir.
The Kreuzwäldchen is a peaceful and completely idyllic area. South-west of the village of Kempenich, on a small hill, stands the chapel of the "Our Lady of Sorrows", which was built in 1879 by the pastor Ferdinand von Freyhold.
The Catholic Chapel of St. Bartholomew in the main street of Reudelsterz, built in 1758, is a baroque hall building. With its impressive altar and beautiful figures of the three Saints Bartholomew, Anthony and Nicholas, it is particularly worth seeing. The hall was extended in 1764 and 1836.
The mining of volcanic material on the Dachsbusch ate deeper and deeper into the old cinder cone. It gives us an insight into the volcanic and climatic history. The volcanic layers show how they slipped during a cold period about 150,000 years ago due to the alternation of thawing and freezing. The badger bush does not need to fear further depletion, as the area is now a nature reserve. Follow the signposted path to the right up to the gliding fold, where you will find more information.
Almost 13,000 years ago, glowing clouds from the Laacher See volcano raced down the Brohltal and filled it with loose volcanic masses. This impressive spectacle can still be seen here today. Follow the road on the right behind the building complex and go uphill for a few meters. On the slope to the right, the layers of ash (trass) that have settled on the rocks of the older basement can be clearly seen. And where volcanoes were active, mineral springs are usually not far away.
Less of an excursion destination than a spectacular site is the Eckfelder Maar in a side valley of the Lieser about 2 km north of Manderscheid.