Heidegärten auf dem Büschberg und dem Wabelsberg

Heidegärten auf dem Büschberg und dem Wabelsberg

Langscheid

Share content:

The two heath gardens on the Büschberg near Arft and the Wabelsberg near Langscheid represent both an educational trail and a botanical garden and provide information on the characteristic plant species of the heath by means of information signs.

The Büschberg (587 m) near Arft offers a fantastic view of a special variety of flora and fauna. The Heidegarten on the Büschberg was created with 34 typical plant species.

The Heidegarten on the Wabelsberg in Langscheid was built between October 2008 and July 2009 at the eastern plateau exit of the Wabelsberg with 45 plant species.

The two heath gardens have the following three main objectives:

1. Visitors should be aesthetically approached and interested in the topic of heathland.
2. Knowledge should be imparted to interested parties in a light and compact manner.
3. The heath gardens are to become the starting point for the re-spread of rare heath species.

Many rare plant species can also be found away from the landscaped heath gardens and a variety of butterflies, beetles and insects can be discovered. A special experience for exploring the unique heathlands are the Traumpfad "Bergheidenweg" (starting point in Arft) and the Traumpfad "Wacholderweg" as well as the Traumpfädchen "Langscheider Wacholderblick" (both starting point in Langscheid).

Place

Langscheid

Contact

Heidegärten auf dem Büschberg und dem Wabelsberg
Neuer Weg 16
56729 Langscheid
Phone: (0049) 02651800995

Homepage

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Pfarrkirche St. Valerius in Wanderath, © Foto: Svenja Schulze-Entrup, Quelle: Touristik-Büro Vordereifel

Pfarrkirche St. Valerius, Baar-Wanderath

The verifiable building history of the parish church in Wanderath begins in the 13th century. The original church is Romanesque, around 1500 the late Gothic nave, today's aisle, was built with the help of the Counts of Virneburg, who were the patrons of the church. When the church was enlarged by a south and north aisle around 1530, the side walls of the old church were broken through. In 1655 Wanderath becomes an independent parish. These include the places Engeln, Büchel, Freilingen, Nitz, Ober- Mittel- and Niederbaar, Herresbach, Eschbach, Döttingen, Siebenbach and Drees. Virneburg was added at the beginning of the 19th century. For this, Drees is assigned to Welcherath. In 1896/1897 the current, neo-Gothic main nave was built. The two Gothic aisles are being demolished. In 1921/1922 the church was expanded again. The then octagonal sacristy was torn down and the current one built. The main nave was lengthened by 10 m and the gallery was built. The tower was raised by 6 meters. In addition, the church received a continuous roof area. Since then, the outward view has not changed. Since Wanderath only consisted of a church, a rectory, a school and a residential building until the middle of the 19th century, there are many legends and myths surrounding the question of why a church was built in the poor Wanderath at all.