Kalvarienbergkapelle

Kalvarienbergkapelle

Prüm

Share content:

The figures depicted in the concrete relief represent Nicodemus and Josef v. Arimathea dar. In the Prüm vernacular they were called "Holter men". It was 7 figures from the ruins to be rescued, the grave stone group, the 14th Station of the Way of the Cross, they are now after thorough restoration in the Salvator Basilica in Prüm, the beautiful altar is in the 3 doctors chapel of the Salvator Basilica.
It was an urgent concern of the Prüm population to rebuild the chapel, as it was considered a much visited place of worship especially in the pre-Easter period and as a landmark for Prüm and the surrounding area.
Just below the high cross, about 10 m away, on the 50th anniversary (commemoration day) of the explosion of 1949, a memorial to the old chapel was erected. On the right side of the masonry is a stone from the ruined chapel of 1696.
The altered condition of the site after the explosion and the construction of other structures on the post-war plateau necessitated a relocation of the chapel. The chapel was rebuilt closer to the city.
The new chapel is a faithful reproduction of the old chapel on a smaller scale (but without a crypt and a sexton).
The construction of the new chapel started in October 1983. The building owner was the city of Prüm. The construction costs, including the interior fittings, amounted to DM 250,000. The financing of this cost was made up of the remainder of the disaster relief fund, funds from the job creation program, the budget of the city of Prüm and donations. 35 years after the destruction of the old chapel by the explosion catastrophe the new chapel was inaugurated on 15 July 1984 with large participation of the population from Prüm and many foreign guests.
The chapel is dedicated to "Our Lady"!
mehr lesen

At a glance

Opening hours

  • From January 1st to December 31st

    The chapel is open daily from 9:00 to 17:00.

Place

Prüm

Contact

Tourist-Information Prümer Land
Hahnplatz 1
54595 Prüm
Phone: (0049) 6551 505
Fax: (0049) 6551 7640

Homepagewrite e-mail

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

Kalvarienbergkapelle

Prüm

Inhalte teilen:

Die im Betonrelief dargestellten Figuren stellen Nicodemus und Josef v. Arimathäa dar. Im Prümer Volksmund wurden sie „Holtermänner“ genannt. Es konnten 7 Figuren aus den Trümmern gerettet werden, die Grablegungsgruppe, die 14. Station des Kreuzweges, sie stehen heute nach gründlicher Restaurierung in der Salvator Basilika in Prüm, der schöne Altar steht in der 3 Ärztekapelle der Salvator Basilika.
Es war ein dringendes Anliegen der Prümer Bevölkerung, die Kapelle wieder aufzubauen, galt sie doch als eine vielbesuchte Gebetsstätte besonders in der vorösterlichen Zeit und als ein Wahrzeichen für Prüm und das Umland.
Etwas unterhalb vom hohen Kreuz, etwa 10 m entfernt, wurde am 50. Jahrestag (Gedenktag) der Explosion von 1949 ein Erinnerungsmal an die alte Kapelle aufgestellt. An der rechten Seite des Mauerwerkes befindet sich noch ein Stein der zerstörten Kapelle von 1696.
Der veränderte Zustand des Geländes nach der Explosionskatastrophe und die Errichtung anderer Bauwerke auf dem Plateau nach dem Krieg erforderten einen Standortwechsel der Kapelle. Die Kapelle wurde näher zur Stadt neu aufgebaut.
Die neue Kapelle ist eine getreue Nachbildung der alten Kapelle in kleinerem Maßstab (jedoch ohne Krypta und Küsterwohnung).
Mit den Bauarbeiten an der neuen Kapelle wurde im Oktober 1983 begonnen. Baulastträger war die Stadt Prüm. Die Baukosten einschließlich Innenausstattung betrugen 250 000, - DM. Die Finanzierung dieses Kostenbetrages erfolgte aus dem Restbetrag des Hilfsfonds der Explosionskatastrophe, aus Mitteln des Arbeitsbeschaffungsprogramms, aus Haushaltsmitteln der Stadt Prüm und durch Spenden. 35 Jahre nach der Zerstörung der alten Kapelle durch die Explosionskatastrophe wurde am 15. Juli 1984 unter großer Beteiligung der Bevölkerung aus Prüm und vieler auswärtiger Gäste die neue Kapelle eingeweiht.
Die Kapelle ist „Unserer lieben Frau“ geweiht! 

Auf einen Blick

Öffnungszeiten

  • Vom 1. Januar bis 31. Dezember

    Die Kapelle ist täglich von 9.00 bis 17.00 Uhr geöffnet.

Ort

Prüm

Kontakt

Kalvarienbergkapelle
*****

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn