"Am Mayener Kreuzchen" Kapelle in Ettringen

"Am Mayener Kreuzchen" Kapelle in Ettringen

Ettringen

Share content:

The small chapel is located - coming from the direction of Mayen - directly at the entrance to the village of Ettringen on the left side. It was built in 1896 on the spot where a stone cross had previously stood - the Mayener Kreuzchen, as the people of Ettringen call it.
In 1894, the married couple Matthias Weidenbach commissioned the master mason Johann Krämer from Ettringen to build the little chapel on their property. In the summer of 1895 it was decorated by Antreichermeister Mathias Lanz, also from Ettringen. On Palm Sunday, March 29, 1896, the dedication took place.
The neo-Gothic chapel, made of local basalt, shows the figure of St. Mary above the entrance and St. Joseph with the infant Jesus in his arms on the outside in the Gothic side niche.
The chapel is still maintained and cared for by the descendants of the Weidenbach family. Thus, in 2015, an extensive renovation of the chapel took place.

mehr lesen

At a glance

Opening hours

  • Vom August 16th bis December 31st
    Monday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Tuesday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Wednesday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Thursday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Friday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Saturday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Sunday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

Place

Ettringen

Contact

Kapelle Ettringen
Mayener Straße - L82
56729 Ettringen

Homepage

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Kottenheimer Büden, © Foto: Svenja Schulze-Entrup, Quelle: Touristik-Büro Vordereifel

Kottenheimer Büden - Vulkanparkstation

The "Kottenheimer Büden" on the eastern flank of the Bellerberg gives an insight into the origins of the Bellerberg volcano and originated about 200,000 years ago when lava bombs and shreds were thrown out of the volcano by violent explosions and piled up into a mighty slag wall. The mysterious "Siewe Stuwe" are caves carved into the basalt lava, which served as air shelters during World War II - primarily for women and children. The Traumpfad "Vulkanpfad" connects the volcanic park stations Ettringer Bellerberg, Kottenheimer Winfeld and Kottenheimer Büden over a distance of about 7 kilometers.

"Am Mayener Kreuzchen" Kapelle in Ettringen

Ettringen

Inhalte teilen:

Die kleine Kapelle befindet sich - aus Richtung Mayen kommend - direkt am Ortseingang der Gemeinde Ettringen auf der linken Seite. Sie wurde 1896 an jener Stelle errichten, an der vorher ein Steinkreuz stand - eben das Mayener Kreuzchen - wie die Ettringer sagen.
Die Eheleute Matthias Weidenbach beauftragten 1894 den Maurermeister Johann Krämer aus Ettringen mit dem Bau des Kapellchens auf ihrem Grundstück. Im Sommer 1895 wurde es von Antreichermeister Mathias Lanz, ebenfalls aus Ettringen, dekoriert. An Palmsonntag, 29. März 1896, fand die Einweihung statt.
Die neugotische Kapelle aus heimischem Basalt zeigt über dem Eingang die Figur der hl. Maria und außen in der gotischen Seitennische den hl. Josef mit dem Jesuskind auf dem Arm. 
Die Kapelle wird auch heute noch von den Nachfahren der Familie Weidenbach gepflegt und instand gehalten. So erfolgte im Jahre 2015 eine umfangreiche Renovierung der Kapelle.


Auf einen Blick

Öffnungszeiten

  • Vom 1. Januar bis 31. Dezember

    Die Kapelle ist frei zugänglich und kann tagsüber besichtigt werden.

Ort

Ettringen

Kontakt

Kapelle Ettringen
Mayener Straße - L82
56729 Ettringen

zur Website

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Kottenheimer Büden, © Foto: Svenja Schulze-Entrup, Quelle: Touristik-Büro Vordereifel

Kottenheimer Büden - Vulkanparkstation

Der "Kottenheimer Büden" an der Ostflanke des Bellerbergs, gibt einen Einblick in die Entstehungsgeschichte des Bellerbergvulkans und entstand vor rund 200.000 Jahren als durch heftige Explosionen Lavabomben und -fetzen aus dem Vulkan herausgeschleudert wurden und sich zu einem mächtigen Schlackenwall auftürmten. Die geheimnisvollen "Siewe Stuwe" sind in die Basaltlava gehauene Höhlen, die im 2. Weltkrieg als Luftschutzräume - in erster Linie für Frauen und Kinder - dienten. Der Traumpfad "Vulkanpfad" verbindet die Vulkanparkstationen Ettringer Bellerberg, Kottenheimer Winfeld und Kottenheimer Büden auf einer Strecke von rund 7 Kilometern.