After 1752, Heinrich Peltzer, as his later successor, used part of the property for his textile business. The entire Kupferhof was purchased by Michael Michels in 1772; his heirs sold the entire Grünenthal property in 1842 to Leonhard Lynen Dumont, who operated a carded yarn factory there, and later a carded yarn spinning mill and tannery. This era lasted until 1877, when a public auction was held.
Originally, the total area of the Grünenthal extended from today's Sonnentalstraße to approximately Rosentalstraße. The core of the extensive site was acquired in 1889 by the Wirtz family, who moved their soap production here. The remainder was purchased by the city of Stolberg, which laid out the Kaiserplatz on the site and built, among other things, the grammar school and the district court. Another large part of the area was sold by the city as building plots to private individuals.
After the Second World War, the Grünenthal family founded the pharmaceutical company of the same name on the Grünenthal estate, which is now active worldwide.
To this day, the restored manor house is inhabited by the Wirtz family of entrepreneurs and is considered the family's ancestral home.
Discover this and many other copper courtyards on a stroll through Stolberg, while enjoying the old town flair and the charm of the Gründerzeit. Our flyer "Kupferstadt & Kupferhöfe" will show you the way!