In 1224 Count Gerhard of Are handed over the parish law of Kirmutscheid to the Order of Saint John in Adenau. In 1403, a pastor was mentioned, and around 1400 a new building was built using older parts.
Kath. Pfarrkirche St. Quirinus ("Eifeldom") in Langenfeld
Langenfeld
Open today
The Catholic parish church of St. Quirinius in Langenfeld is popularly called "Eifeldom" due to its imposing size. It was built between 1894 and 1898 and is inextricably linked to the name of Father Thewes, who came to Langenfeld in 1884. With all his strength he enforces the construction of the present parish church, even without the permission of the authority in Trier. The church was blessed on 16.09.1899 and consecrated on 10.05.1900.
About 2500 years ago there was a Celtic urbanisation with pastures on the Dietzenley. The Celtic urbanisation was protected by ring walls of up to 9 meters high and 4 meters wide against attacks.During the volcanic activity around 600.000 years ago, the area around the Dietzenley was covered with volcanic rocks. These rocks are used by the Celtics to build the ring walls.
The small, charming museum “Villa Sarabodis”, located in the shadow of the Church of the Saviour, houses an astonishing variety of Roman and Celtic artefacts. Guided tours in the museum and the adjoining Villa Sarabodis are possible at any time on request.
The listed building is not only being used as living quarters but also as a place to offer high-quality cultural venues. Theatre, concerts and exhibits take place inside and outside the castle.
Until far into the 19th century millstone were carved out in the caves. But the caves also were used as natural "refrigerators". In the winter time they were equipped with ice and snow so that cooling conditions kept the cold far into the summer.