Every 10 years the village gets ready to show the unique and well-known Riedener Passion Play in the parish church to over 10,000 visitors.
The inside of the church is almost completely rebuilt and many people from Rieden can be seen walking around "unshaven" for months.
And there is an important reason for that.
After all, they are performers at the festival.
Reason enough for the sponsoring association to remember the Riedener Passion Play with this work of art.
According to identification of the components, the church existed in Romanesque times at the latest.
The bell ringer (campanarius in Reyde) is mentioned in Caesarius von Heisterbach's "Dialogus miraculorum" from 1225-1227.
Nothing more can be said about the church mentioned.
It is no longer possible to determine when the first church was built and where it was located.
As a parish church, the church is listed in the Taxa generalis around 1330.
The Kirchsatz was connected with the rule of Bürresheim. According to art historians, there has been a Romanesque church since the middle of the 13th century, to which a choir from the late Gothic period was added, which in turn is still used today as a baptistery.
All other parts are lost after three renovations and extensions. When the church was extended in 1757, the Romanesque nave was completely torn down and completely renewed.
The Gothic choir and the old tower were preserved.
The newly created single-nave nave is provided with a baroque ribbed vault and today serves as a choir with high altar and children's nave.