The Kupferhof Schart, located in the very south of the old town, was built shortly before 1600 directly on the Vichtbach stream as a double courtyard complex. As was typical at the time, the farm was built as a closed, fortified and defensible complex, which formed an inner courtyard completely surrounded by residential and farm buildings and stables. The copper courtyard was only accessible through a well-fortified gate and the façade looked uninviting from the outside without windows. The present appearance of the Schart is characterised by a conversion carried out in 1808, in which the originally plain exterior façades were fundamentally altered.mehr lesen pdf: Flyer Kupferstadt & Kupferhöfepdf: Copper city & copper yardspdf: Koperstadt & Kupferhöfepdf: La ville du cuivre & ses Kupferhöfe
In 1719, the Schart was the first Stolberg copper yard to undergo a change of use, when Matthias von Asten set up a cloth manufactory there.
Discover this and many other copper yards on a stroll through Stolberg while enjoying the flair of the old town and the charm of the Gründerzeit. Our flyer "Kupferstadt & Kupferhöfe" will show you the way!