Experience the past - come to the local history museum in Manderscheid on Wednesday or Saturday.
On 8 June 1984, the Manderscheid Museum of Local History was officially opened in the former primary schools on the Burberg in the presence of former German President Walter Scheel. In 1995, the museum moved to its present location opposite the town hall. In the representative residential building from the first half of the 19th century, which in earlier times was used as a restaurant, guesthouse and farm, numerous exhibits and documents today tell of the more than 1000-year history of Manderscheid and its surroundings. The so-called count's bell is the most important object in the museum. No less important is an old church bell from the Manderscheid parish church. It dates from 1746.
In the museum's picture gallery, works by the local artist Peter Gillen are on display. The showpiece is a painting by Friedrich August de Leuw (1817-1888), an important painter of the Düsseldorf School of Painting, whose sons settled here in Manderscheid. Surrounded by beautiful motifs, official marriages can also be performed in this room.
On the first floor, a schoolroom evokes good or not so good memories of one's own school days. A gentlemen's room from the old imperial post office still impresses today. Hardly imaginable by today's standards, on the other hand, is the furnishing of a peasant's bedroom. Pharmacy jars from the Manderscheider pharmacy, founded as early as 1835, are special exhibits in the small museum pharmacy. And in the shoemaker's workshop of Matthias Stadtfeld, the master seems to be having lunch right now...
A life-size pair of counts welcomes the guests in the count's room and a model of the castles here shows their condition around the year 1600. Further documents as well as pictures of various counts provide information about the Eifel counts, whose traces can still be found everywhere in the Eifel.