Besucherbergwerk "Grube Wohlfahrt"
Experience "The Eifel from below" all year round, every day! The family-friendly guided tours are especially designed for children, for whom a visit to "underground world" is a very special experience! Guided tours of the former lead ore mine are offered three times a day for individual visitors.
They begin in the "pit house", where a small, themed exhibition can also be visited. A convenient stairway leads to the "deep gallery", which is accessible to visitors with several side galleries at about 800 metres. There are traces of mining from the late Middle Ages to the mining industry of the 19th century. . . that was still being blasted with black powder. Ore mining was carried out after 1890 with the first electric mine railway in the Eifel! There is a lot to learn about the life of the miners and the history of the Eifel. A special feature are the more than 100-year-old drawings on the walls in the "Tiefen Stollen".