VORÜBERGEHEND GESCHLOSSEN: Natur- und Landschaftsmuseum

VORÜBERGEHEND GESCHLOSSEN: Natur- und Landschaftsmuseum

Bad Münstereifel

Share content:

In the Werther Tor, the district association for nature and environmental protection e.V. Euskirchen, local working group Bad Münstereifel, with the help of the North Rhine-Westphalia Foundation and the Rhine. Museum Office created a walk-in diorama in which the nature around Bad Münstereifel is shown.

The nature and landscape museum is located in one of the four historic city gates of the medieval city walls of Bad Münstereifel. After 1876, the Werther Tor, which was rebuilt in 1416, housed the city's prison for a short time. The building has been used as an information center since 1982. In 1998, a walk-in diorama was set up on the first floor, presenting the three most important forms of landscape around Bad Münstereifel with their characteristic plants and animals: beech forest, damp forest meadow and lime grassland. In addition, the visitor can call up the song of the bird species native to the respective biotopes through a control panel. In front of the Werther Tor there is a herb garden, which is planted based on the "Capitulare de villis" of Charlemagne. The adjacent arches of the city wall are also to be planted with the flora that is typical for them.

Place

Bad Münstereifel

Contact

Natur- und Landschaftsmuseum
Marquardstr. 4
53902 Bad Münstereifel
Phone: (0049) 2253 7677

Homepagewrite e-mail

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Führung durch das Nationalpark-Zentrum Eifel, © Nationalpark Eifel, D. Ketz

Eifel National Park centre - “Wildnis(t)räume” exhibition

In the Eifel National Park centre at the Vogelsang IP “International Place”, visitors can experience nature with all their senses - indoors and outdoors. Surrounded by dense mixed deciduous forests, the modern visitors’ centre above the Urftsee lake has hosted the “Wildnis(t)räume” (“Wilderness Dreams”) exhibition - a barrier-free, interactive nature experience for people of all ages. The Eifel National Park centre is open all year round.

Unterwegs in Kronenburg, © EIfel Tourismus GmbH, D. Ketz

Kronenburg

The castle ruin and fortified settlement of Kronenburg Kronenburg Castle was one of the characteristic medieval hill-castles of the Eifel built on the spur of a ridge in the Upper Kyll Valley. The self-contained impression of the castle ruin, outer bailey and fortified settlement and their adaptation to the topography make the special charm of this site. Kronenburg was first mentioned in a charter of the Abbey Stablo Malmedy in 1277. Today the locality is a touristic attraction in the Upper Kyll Valley.