Burg Pyrmont

Burg Pyrmont

Roes

Share content:

Set in a picturesque backdrop, Pyrmont Castle is enthroned on a mighty slate rock above a rushing waterfall on the Elzbach river. Pyrmont Castle was first mentioned in 1225; today, the more than 800-year-old tower keep still dominates the entire complex.

The 13th century castle was rebuilt in 1963-1967 by architects Prof. Hentrich and Senator Petschnigg. For several decades it served as a think tank and guest house for the renowned architectural office HPP in Düsseldorf. Today, it continues to be a place of encounter - in the spirit of the architects. The "Pyrmonter Felsensteig" Traumpfad ("Dream Path") starts below the medieval Pyrmont Castle. This was voted "Germany's most beautiful hiking trail" in 2015. The hiking trail leads up to the heights of the Maifeld. From there, visitors have a wonderful view of the castle and the volcanic cones in the eastern Eifel range. Crossing the nature reserve at Juckelberg, the trail leads down into the wild, densely wooded Elz Valley. The managed Pyrmont Mill invites visitors to take a break along the way. During a romantic castle wedding, bridal couples can say yes to each other here and then celebrate according to their wishes. The cosy guest rooms of the castle are also available for overnight stays if required. Once a year the castle gates open on the occasion of the Wedding Fair.

From May to October, the castle bus operates on weekends and public holidays. During the journey from Treis-Karden to Pyrmont Castle, visitors can experience the interplay between the Mosel and the Eifel.

For more information, please contact the tourist office Schieferland Kaisesesch.

Place

Roes

Contact

Burg Pyrmont
Burg Pyrmont
56754 Roes
Phone: (0049) 2672 - 2345
Fax: (0049) 261 - 54457

Homepagewrite e-mail

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train