Burg Bischofstein sits enthroned where the wide fields of the Maifeld merge into the steep slopes of the Moselle valley. Built in the 13th century, the castle was destroyed by French troops in 1689. In the first half of the 20th century, Bischofstein Castle was rebuilt in its current building structure and converted into a residential castle. The castle is used as a school camp and can be booked as group accommodation, but is not open to the public. From April to October there is an opportunity to climb the keep on Fridays to Sundays. There is a breathtaking view of Burg Bischofstein and the Moselle from the "Lasserger Küppchen" near the small Maifeldort Lasserg. The slope edge is a popular starting point for paragliders. Hikers are on the way there on the dream path Hatzenporter Laysteig and the Moselsteig.