Alt BreinigAlt Breinig52222 StolbergPhone: (0049) 2402 99900-81
The inhabitant of Aachen and Master Builder, Couven, constructed the building in 1783 following the model of a townhouse of the nobility for the cloth manufacturer, M.P.W. Troistorff. In an acceptance of the times, the half-timbered house was plastered and decorated with ornamentation. Rich carvings in the doors with supraports and artistic wrought-iron works in the banister and balcony railing testify to the splendour and prosperity of the inhabitants.
After a few metres in altitude, you reach the copper masters’ cemetery, located at the Finkenberg Church.
From the smallest mouse up to bears and lions, the visitor can undertake an exploratory expedition and experience a tour through our nature as it once was or still is today. The Experience Museum Nature Learning Centre exhibits more than 1000 specimens on approximately 200 square metres.
The castle, which dates from the 15th century, is now used as a museum & event location.
The Monschau Castle presumably originated at the beginning of the 13th century. In the middle of the 14th century, the complex was extended and enclosed by a mighty circular wall and embattlements. This nearly impregnable fortress of the powerful Jülich Counts was besieged with heavy artillery by Emperor Charles V in 1543 and was ultimately overtaken; the town was looted. The castle was only repaired to extend the fortifications of the lower castle.
The unique calamine flowers in and around Stolberg are best seen between May and August, when the calamine violets are in bloom in the calamine meadows.