Volcano Park information centre

Plaidt

Share content:

As the central point of contact in the Volcano Park, the information centre offers an overview of the wide range of geological and archaeological themes covered in the park. 

The history of the high-temperature creation of the East Eifel is presented to visitors along with the history of quarrying in the same region, which stretches back over 7,000 years. There is also an overview of the entire Volcano Park with all its attractions.

Visitors will find information about the special features of (Eifel) vulcanism, the most important volcanoes in the East Eifel and the historical stone mining. On large backlit images and with striking film material, the “Vulcanology” exhibition area presents the history of the high-temperature creation of the East Eifel.
In the “Archaeology” exhibition, visitors are given an introduction to the history of the mining of basalt lava stone and tuff. Visitors can immerse themselves in this history in the true sense of the word. A 3D image on the floor offers a view into the mining tunnels and quarries. From Roman times via the Middle Ages to the modern era, the focus is on the way in which the valuable volcanic raw materials were mined.
In the stone experience garden, you can listen to, touch and move the volcanic stones, and hear the roar of the “river Nette” as it flows over large basalt blocks in the “roaring park” next door.
You should plan about 1 1/2 hours for a visit to the Volcano Park information centre. For guests wanting some exercise and more information, we recommend that you follow the visit with a hike along the Roman history paths along the Nette and Krufter Bach stream to the Antike Technikwelt (“world of antique technology”) at the Meurin Roman mine.

Small but perfectly formed. Anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the geology and mining history of the East Eifel should start their tour of discovery at the Volcano Park information centre. Particularly when combined with the Antike Technikwelt at the Roman mine in Meurin, the information centre also offers an interesting introduction to the Volcano Park for families with children, thanks to the low entrance charges.

Place

Plaidt

Contact

Vulkanpark GmbH
Vulkanpark-Infozentrum
56637 Plaidt
Phone: (0049)02632-9875-0
Fax: (0049)02632-9875-20

Homepagewrite e-mail

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

Vulkanpark-Infozentrum

Plaidt

Inhalte teilen:

Als zentrale Anlaufstelle im Vulkanpark gibt das Infozentrum einen Überblick zu der geologischen und archäologischen Themenvielfalt des Vulkanparks. Die heiße Entstehungsgeschichte der Osteifel wird dem Besucher ebenso gezeigt wie die über 7.000-jährige Abbaugeschichte in der Osteifel. Eine Übersicht über den gesamten Vulkanpark mit all seinen Attraktionen gibt es obendrein.
Besucher können sich über die Besonderheiten des (Eifel-) Vulkanismus, die wichtigsten Vulkane der Osteifel und den historischen Steinabbau informieren. Auf großen Leuchtbildern und mit eindrucksvollem Filmmaterial wird im Ausstellungsbereich „Vulkanologie“ die heiße Entstehungsgeschichte der Osteifel thematisiert und inszeniert.
In der Ausstellung „Archäologie“ erhält der Besucher eine Einführung in die Abbaugeschichte von Basaltlava und Tuffstein. In diese Geschichte kann der Besucher im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes eintauchen: Ein 3D-Bodenbild lässt ihn bildlich in die Stollen und Steinbrüche blicken. Von der Römerzeit über das Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit dreht sich alles um den Abbau der wertvollen vulkanischen Rohstoffe.
Im Steinerlebnisgarten kann man vulkanische Steine hören, fühlen und bewegen und dem Rauschen der „Nette“ lauschen, die sich im angrenzenden „Rauscherpark“ über große Basaltblöcke ergießt.
Für den Besuch des Vulkanpark Infozentrums sollten ca. 1 ½ Stunden eingeplant werden. Für bewegungs- und informationshungrige Gäste empfiehlt sich im Anschluss eine Wanderung auf den Pfaden römischer Vergangenheit entlang der Nette und des Krufter Baches zur Antiken Technikwelt am Römerbergwerk Meurin.

Klein aber fein: Wer in die Erd- und Abbaugeschichte der Osteifel eintauchen möchte sollte seine Entdeckungsreise im Vulkanpark Infozentrum beginnen. Auch für Familien mit Kindern ist das Infozentrum, gerade in Kombination mit der Antiken Technikwelt am Römerbergwerk Meurin, aufgrund günstiger Eintrittspreise ein interessanter Einstieg in den Vulkanpark.

Auf einen Blick

Öffnungszeiten

  • Vom 1. Januar 2016 bis 31. Dezember 2016

    15. März - 01. November:
    Montags geschlossen
    Montags in den Ferien RLP + NRW: 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr
    Dienstag bis Sonntag: 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

    November bis März:
    Montags geschlossen
    Montags in den Ferien RLP + NRW: 11:00 - 16:00 Uhr
    Dienstag bis Sonntag: 11:00 - 16:00 Uhr

    Weitere Öffnungszeiten für Gruppen nach Absprache

Ort

Plaidt


Kontakt

Vulkanpark GmbH
Vulkanpark-Infozentrum
56637 Plaidt
Telefon: (0049)02632-9875-0
Fax: (0049)02632-9875-20

zur WebsiteE-Mail verfassen

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren