St. Salvator Basilika Prüm

St. Salvator Basilika Prüm

Prüm

Charles the Great built the first Salvatorkirche. The abbey church of the Benedictine Abbey of Prüm was so precious as to hold the relic of the sandals Christian that it was called the "Golden Church".

After changing history, in the course of which the church had been destroyed several times and became a victim of fire catastrophe, the Trier Elector Franz Ludwig of Pfalz-Neuburg in 1721 commissioned the reconstruction of the Salvatorkirche. The layout of today's Salvatorkirche can be traced back to the designs of Hofbaumeister Hans georg Judas, who used earlier styles such as Romanticism, Gothic and Renaissance. On the other hand, the interior decoration reflects the main Franconian baroque spirit of his successors Neumann and Seitz.

After the Abbey of Prüm was abolished in the course of secularization, the abbey church passed into the possession of the Catholic parishion of Prüm in 1802. In the Second World War, the Salvatorkirche was heavily damaged, while the substance of the building was preserved.

In May 1950 the damage had been remedied so far that the services could be celebrated again in the Salvatorkirche. On 10 June 1950 the Salvatorkirche was established by Pope Piux XII. to a "Basilica Minor".

Inside the St. Salvator Basilika, among other things, the baroque high altar, the reliquary shrine and the emperor's emperor of Lothar, the grandson of Charles the Great.

www.basilika-pruem.de


mehr lesen

Share content:

At a glance

Opening hours

  • Vom January 1st bis December 31st
    Monday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Tuesday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Wednesday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Thursday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Friday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Saturday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

    Sunday
    09:00 - 18:00 Uhr

The renovation works in the Saint Salvator Basilica are complete and the church can be visited daily.

Place

Prüm

Contact

Kath. Kirchengemeinde
Hahnplatz 17
54595 Prüm
Phone: (0049) 6551 147460
Fax: (0049) 6551 1474620

Homepagewrite e-mail

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

Salvator Basilika Prüm

Prüm

Inhalte teilen:

Karl der Große ließ die erste Salvatorkirche erbauen. Als aufbewahrungsort der Reliquie der Sandalen Christ war die Abteikirche der Benediktiner-Abtei Prüm so kostbar ausgestattet, dass sie "Goldene Kirche" genannt wurde.

Nach wechselvoller Geschichte, in deren Verlauf die Kirche mehrmals zerstört und Opfer von Brandkatastrophen geworden war, gab der Trierer Kurfürst Franz Ludwig von Pfalz-Neuburg im Jahre 1721 den Wiederaufbau der Salvatorkirche in Auftrag. Der Grundriss der heutigen Salvatorkirche geht auf die Entwürfe von Hofbaumeister Hans georg Judas zurück, der auf frühere Stile wie Romantik, Gotik und Renaissance zurückgriff. Dagegen spiegelt die Innenausstattung den mainfränkischen Barockgeist seiner Nachfolger Neumann und Seitz wider.

Nachdem die Abtei Prüm im Zuge der Säkularisierung aufgehoben wurde, ging die Abteikirche im Jahr 1802 in den Besitz der katholischen Pfarrgemeinde Prüm über. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde die Salvatorkirche stark beschädigt, wobei die Substanz des Gebäudes erhalten blieb.

Im Mai 1950 waren die Schäden so weit behoben, dass die Gottesdienste wieder in der Salvatorkirche gefeiert werden konnten. Am 10. Juni 1950 wurde die Salvatorkirche durch Papst Piux XII. zu einer "Basilika Minor" erhoben.

Im Inneren der St. Salvator Basilika sind heute u.a. der barocke Hochaltar, der Reliquienschrein und das Kaisergrab Kaiser Lothars, des Enkels von Karl dem Großen, zu bewundern.

Ort

Prüm


Kontakt

Kath. Kirchengemeinde
Hahnplatz 17
54595 Prüm
Telefon: (0049) 6551 147460
Fax: (0049) 6551 1474620

zur WebsiteE-Mail verfassen

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn