Eifel-Blick "Bergfried"

Eifel-Blick "Bergfried"

Hellenthal

Share content:

At an altitude of 470 metres above sea level, you look south-east over the historic castle town of Reifferscheid. The village includes the castle complex with the outer castle and the castle ring as well as the valley settlement at the foot of the castle.

The first documented mention of Reifferscheid dates back to 1106 and the oldest parts of the castle are almost as old. Today's ruins were once a proud castle which belonged to the reign of the Counts of Salm-Reifferscheid. The powerful noble family had considerable possessions in the Eifel and on the Lower Rhine and had great influence in state and church.

During the French occupation, the castle was expropriated and auctioned in 1805. Changing owners subsequently used the site as a quarry. Thus only the keep was preserved, which is now owned by the municipality of Hellenthal.

Place

Hellenthal

Contact

Eifel-Blick "Bergfried"
Zehntweg
53940 Hellenthal-Reifferscheid

Homepage

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Eifel-Blick "Bergfried"

Hellenthal

Inhalte teilen:

Auf einer Höhe von 470 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel schauen Sie in südöstlicher Richtung über den historischen Burgort Reifferscheid. Der Ort umfasst die Burganlage mit der Vorburg und dem Burgbering sowie die Talsiedlung zu Füßen der Burg.

Die erste urkundliche Erwähnung von Reifferscheid stammt aus dem Jahr 1106. Fast ebenso alt sind die ältesten Teile der Burg. Die heutige Ruine war einst ein stolzes Schloss, welches zur Herrschaft der Grafen von Salm-Reifferscheid gehörte. Das mächtige Adelsgeschlecht hatte erhebliche Besitztümer in der Eifel und am Niederrhein und besaß großen Einfluss in Staat und Kirche.

Im Zuge der französischen Besetzung wurde die Burg im Jahr 1805 enteignet und versteigert. Wechselnde Besitzer nutzen die Anlage in der Folgezeit als Steinbruch. So blieb nur der Bergfried erhalten, welcher sich heute im Eigentum der Gemeinde Hellenthal befindet.

Ort

Hellenthal


Kontakt

Eifel-Blick "Bergfried"
Zehntweg
53940 Hellenthal-Reifferscheid

zur Website

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren